What Has Made You a Better Teacher?


Here’s a challenge for you – write a comment telling us what one thing has made you a better teacher.  It’s easier said than done.  One thing that has made me a better teacher is my move to Morocco.  Teaching here has had it’s own special set of challenges – like the fact that my kids only speak English when they are in my class (and sometimes not even then!), but teaching here has also brought it’s own special set of rewards.  I love being able to connect with the background knowledge my students have, and being able to utilize their other languages.  I love that when we look at the globe, they can all point to at least one other country they’ve been 100_5605to.  I love re-looking at my own language through their eyes. 

In addition to being a teacher in Morocco, I am a parent here.  My children don’t go to my school, but to a Moroccan school where they spend half of their day in French and half of their day in Arabic.  They come home for lunch every day.  They have chalkboards, not whiteboards (and definitely not interactive whiteboards) in their classrooms, and almost no books.  The teaching methods are “traditional” to say the least.  But, the teachers are caring and experienced and my children are learning so much!  As a “non-traditional” teacher, it has made me take a step back and remember that schools can look many different ways and have many different programs, but still focus on education children.

Being a “global” teacher has inspired me.  So much so, that I have a new project in the works.  I won’t tell you all the details right now, but be on the look out for something big in the coming weeks.

In the meantime, please take the time to tell me what has changed you as a teacher.

signature_thumb1_thumb_thumb32222222[1]

rakishop42222222 tn4

Tags: , , ,

About rakisradresources

teacher mother of 3 wife

2 responses to “What Has Made You a Better Teacher?”

  1. K Mills says :

    When I started out as a pre-service teacher and in my first year, I felt that I had to teach my students everything – now! I needed to cover the curriculum to do my job properly and I got a little panicked whe I fell behind.

    With a few years under my belt, I am more relaxed now. I understand that my students are on a continuum of learning. I see my year now, as more of a marathon than as a sprint. Of course the curriculum has to be covered, but Rome wasn’t built in a day. I am more conscious of teaching my students first and not just the curriculum.

    My students are at so many different levels, I’ve also realized that you have to start where they are and go from there. You can’t just “jump in” where they should be and assume that they’ll know what you’re talking about. They’ll never all be at grade level all of the time and that’s okay. We just have to figure out where they actually are and try to help bring them up from there.

    I learn so much from my students each year. This year, my students are teaching me the virtue of patience.

    Krystal

    http://www.lessonsfromthemiddle.com

  2. LaProfesoraFrida says :

    Awesome, Krystal!

    I can totally relate. My mentor teacher told me during my first year of teaching, “Don’t pull out all of the good stuff right away!” I didn’t really understand what he meant by that until the year was over. 🙂

    The pressure of covering ‘everything’ that my students need to learn was overwhelming until I finally accepted that I had a whole year to do it!

    Thank you Heidi for your interesting posts! I love hearing more about your teaching adventures in Morocco! I am currently living in the Netherlands and have the awesome opportunity of exploring the online learning community! 🙂

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

